Skip to content

On content and design

When designing this site, I spent a lot of time considering the importance of content & usability in a responsive setting, refining my existing content-first approach.

There are a few different definitions, and interpretations of the term ‘content-first’, but I am referring, primarily, to the approach described by Jeremy Keith, and the ideas expressed by Geoffrey Zeldman at An Event Apart.

Chief among these, in my opinion, are the ideas that design without content is just decoration, content should be the determining factor of key design aspects like layout width, and that legibility & usability of content must be properly considered at every stage of the design process.

My responsive content hitlist

To create a design that delivers content appropriately, and in an optimal and user-friendly fashion on all devices, I now strive to ensure that;

  1. Font sizes, paddings and margins are set only in em or %.
  2. The maximum width of the layout is set in ems to ensure a consistent measure.
  3. Media queries are all set in ems, tying them to my content.
  4. Content always comes before navigation.
  5. Content is always accessible.

How do you do it?

One of the best things about this business is the constant learning that is required. I'm always ready to learn from the amazing things that you talented denizens of the internet share every day.

I would love to hear about your content first strategies or any thoughts you may have on mine. Shoot…